Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist by Anne Buist

Forensic psychiatrist Natalie King works with victims and perpetrators of violent crime. Women with a history of abuse, mainly. She rides a Ducati a size too big and wears a tank top a size too small. Likes men but doesn't want to keep one. And really needs to stay on her medication. Now she's being stalked. Anonymous notes, threats, strangers loitering outside her house. A hostile former patient? Or someone connected with a current case? Georgia Latimer - charged with killing her three children. Travis Hardy - deadbeat father of another murdered child, with a second daughter now missing. Maybe the harrassment has something to do with Crown Prosecutor Liam O'Shea - drop-dead sexy, married and trouble in all kinds of ways. Natalie doesn't know. Question is, will she find out before it's too late? Anne Buist, herself a leading perinatal psychiatrist, has created an edge-of-the-seat mystery with a hot new heroine - backed up by a lifetime of experience with troubled minds. 'An intelligent, well paced thriller about Natalie King, a gifted forensic psychiatrist who works with the victims and sometimes the perpetrators of violent crime. Fans of CSI and Law & Order SVU will enjoy getting to grips with what is sure to be a successful and long running series of books.' Adrian McKinty

Buy Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist by Anne Buist from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781922182647
ISBN-10: 1922182648
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 154mm x 28mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: The Text Publishing Company
Publisher: Text Publishing Co
Publish Date: 28-Jan-2015
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist by Anne Buist

Book Reviews - Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist by Anne Buist

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist book by Anne Buist and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Medea's Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist by Anne Buist - Reviewed by (28 Jan 2015)

Medea’s Curse is the first fiction book by Australian psychiatrist and author, Professor Anne Buist. A stalker is just what Dr Natalie King, forensic psychiatrist, does not need. She is already at loggerheads with Associate Professor Wadhwa over a patient’s diagnosis; Crown Prosecutor Liam O’Shea is dangling an interesting case in front of her nose, a case related to one that she considers a failure on her part; Married-With-Kids-Liam-O’Shea is sexy and charming and Natalie is only half-resisting her lustful impulses; she knows her supervisor, Declan Ryan, will disapprove of both the interesting case and Natalie’s poor adherence to her mood-stabilising medications; and her newest patient is setting off alarm bells in her mind regarding childhood sexual abuse.

What is keeps Natalie on an even keel (most of the time) are her singing gigs with the band, her very private warehouse apartment and a cheeky cockatoo named after Bob Dylan. At first, she dismisses the mildly threatening hand-written note, but as further communications become more intrusive, sophisticated and complex, Natalie becomes concerned. Meanwhile, she also begins to wonder if her cases, some involving mothers accused of infanticide, are related.

Buist’s protagonist is not your typical forensic psychiatrist: with multiple ear piercings, a Ducati 1200, a mental health history of her own and a reluctance to take her meds, Natalie King sings in a rock band and has an avid sexual appetite. Luckily, Buist assures us there will be more of this passionate and edgy new heroine.

Buist includes a funny and, no doubt, highly accurate description of a manic episode from the point of view of the person experiencing it. Her expertise in the mental health field is apparent in every paragraph, and mentions of actual cases that readers will recognise add authenticity. There is quite a bit of jargon, so a glossary of mental health terms might have been helpful.

Buist gives the reader a plot that is original and believable, with more than one twist to keep the reader guessing to the end. Her characters are multi-faceted, and none are quite what they first seem to be; her dialogue is realistic and the subject matter is very topical. This thought-provoking psychological thriller will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned. A brilliant read.


Author Biography - Anne Buist

Anne Buist is the Chair of Women's Mental Health at the University of Melbourne. She has over twenty-five years' clinical and research experience in perinatal psychiatry, and works with protective services and the legal system in cases of abuse, kidnapping, infanticide and murder. Professor Buist is married to novelist Graeme Simsion and has two children. Her novels featuring forensic psychiatrist Natalie King are Medea's Curse, Dangerous to Know and This I Would Kill For.