Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Breathmoss and Other Exhalations by Ian R. MacLeod

This collection of literary short fiction combines fantasy, science fiction, and horror in vivid settings, peopled with ordinary humans with normal relationships, and the interaction of the mundane with the fantastic. In "Breathmoss," a young girl must cope with the relationship with her family, love, and a community set in rigid custom, where males are a rarity. In "Verglas," a man must decide to leave his humanity by going native on an ice world or abandon his family. The events leading to the formation of the current government, the repression of Jews and homosexuals, and the horrors of being a closet homosexual in such a regime are examined in "The Summer Isles." Other stories encompass a scientist who searches for extraterrestrial intelligence; a rigid, aged man finding magic by a pool; and an 18-year-old girl who gains the reputation of being a death flower during WWII.

Buy Breathmoss and Other Exhalations by Ian R. MacLeod from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781930846265
ISBN-10: 1930846266
Format: Hardback
(215mm x 139mm x mm)
Pages: 300
Imprint: Golden Gryphon Press
Publisher: Golden Gryphon Press
Publish Date: 27-May-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Breathmoss and Other Exhalations by Ian R. MacLeod

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Breathmoss and Other Exhalations book by Ian R. MacLeod and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ian R. MacLeod

Ian R. MacLeod is the author of "The Great Wheel", "The Light Ages", and "Voyages by Starlight". His work has been nominated for the Nebula and Hugo awards and has won the World Fantasy Award, Locus Award, Sidewise Award, and Asimov's Reader's Poll.

Books By Ian R. MacLeod

Light Ages by Ian R. MacLeod
Paperback, April 2004