1300 36 33 32

For the centennial of Farrell's birth, here is a collector's edition of his classic Studs Lonigan trilogy. An unparalleled example of American naturalism, the trilogy follows the hopes and dissipations of its remarkable main character--a would-be tough guy and archetypal adolescent.

Buy Studs Lonigan book by James T. Farrell from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781931082556
ISBN-10: 1931082553
Format: Hardback
(205mm x 135mm x 34mm)
Pages: 988
Imprint: The Library of America
Publisher: The Library of America
Publish Date: 16-Oct-2014
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Studs Lonigan book by James T. Farrell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - James T. Farrell

James Thomas Farrell (1904 1979) was born in Chicago to a struggling family of second-generation Irish Catholic immi grants. In 1907, his father, James Farrell, a teamster unable to support his growing family, placed young Jim with his maternal grandparents. It was his grandparents neighborhood in Chicago s South Fifties that would provide the background to Farrell s Studs Lonigan trilogy. Farrell worked his way through the University of Chicago, shedding his Catholic upbringing and absorbing the works of William James, John Dewey, Sigmund Freud, while reading widely in American and European literature: Herman Melville, Sherwood Anderson, H. L. Mencken, Sinclair Lewis, and James Joyce were critical influences on his literary development. Slob (1929), his first published story, was also his first render ing of the real life Studs Lonigan, a young man he had known growing up in Chicago. Farrell s first novel, Young Lonigan was published in 1932, followed by The Young Manhood of Studs Lonigan (1934) and Judgment Day (1935) the three volumes making up his celebrated Studs Lonigan trilogy. A prolific writer, Farrell left more than fifty books of stories and novels behind him when he died in 1979. Alongside his masterpiece Studs Lonigan, Farrell s best-known works include the Danny O Neill novels, A World I Never Made, No Star is Lost, Father and Son, and My Days of Anger. James T. Farrell s Studs Lonigan trilogy is also available in Penguin Classics."

Books By Author James T. Farrell

Young Lonigan by James T. Farrell

Young Lonigan

Paperback, May 2010
My Days of Anger by James T. Farrell

My Days of Anger

Paperback, February 2008
Father and Son by James T. Farrell

Father and Son

Paperback, November 2007
No Star is Lost by James T. Farrell

No Star is Lost

Paperback, July 2007