Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Rashomon by Ryunosuke Akutagawa

The stories included in this classic collection include: "In a Grove", a psychologically sophisticated tale about murder, rape, and suicide; "Rashomon", the story of a thief scared into honesty by an encounter with a ghoul; "The Martyr" tells the story of silent suffering in Christian Nagasaki; and "Kesa and Morito" is the story of man driven to kill someone he doesn't hate by a lover whom he doesn't love. "There are enough Swiftian touches in Akutagawa to show his hatred of stupidity, greed, hypocrisy, and the rising jingoism of the day. But Akutagawa's artistic integrity kept him from joining his contemporaries in the easy social criticism or naive introspection...What he did was question the values of his society, dramatize the complexities of human psychology, and study, with a Zen taste for paradox, the balance of illusion and reality." - Howard Hibbett.

Buy Rashomon by Ryunosuke Akutagawa from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9784805308820
ISBN-10: 4805308826
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 134mm x mm)
Pages: 112
Imprint: Tuttle Shokai Inc
Publisher: Tuttle Shokai Inc
Publish Date: 15-Nov-2007
Country of Publication: Japan

Other Editions - Rashomon by Ryunosuke Akutagawa

Book Reviews - Rashomon by Ryunosuke Akutagawa

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rashomon book by Ryunosuke Akutagawa and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ryunosuke Akutagawa

Ryunosuke Akutagawa was the author of over 100 short stories. Described as one of the best-read men of his generation, he received a degree in English Literature at Tokyo Imperial University and published translations of Anatole France and W.B. Yeats. In 1927, Ryunosuke Akutagawa committed suicide at the age of thirty-five.

Books By Ryunosuke Akutagawa

Life Of A Stupid Man, Thee by Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Paperback, February 2015
Cogwheels & Other Stories by Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Paperback, October 2014
3 Strange Tales by Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Paperback / softback, November 2012
Beautiful and the Grotesque by Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Paperback, September 2010