0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins by Michelle Meadows

Janet Collins wanted to be a ballerina in the 1930s and 40s, a time when racial segregation was widespread in the United States. Janet pursued dance with a passion, despite being rejected from discriminatory dance schools. When she was accepted into the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo as a teenager on the condition that she paint her skin white for performances, Janet refused. She continued to go after her dreams, never compromising her values along the way. From her early childhood lessons to the height of her success as the first African American prima ballerina in the Metropolitan Opera, this is the story of a remarkable pioneer.

For fans of Misty Copeland's Firebird and Javaka Steptoe's Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat.

Buy Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins by Michelle Meadows from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781250127730
Format: Hardback
(286mm x 226mm x 10mm)
Pages: 32
Imprint: Henry Holt & Company Inc
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company Inc
Publish Date: 8-Jan-2019
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins by Michelle Meadows

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins book by Michelle Meadows and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Michelle Meadows

Piggies in Pajamas by Michelle Meadows
Hardback, July 2013
$16.99 $19.99
Pilot Pups by Michelle Meadows
Hardback, July 2008
$16.96 $19.95
Hibernation Station by Michelle Meadows
Hardback, August 2010
$39.65 $44.06
Super Bugs by Michelle Meadows
Hardback, September 2016
$37.45 $41.61