0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards.

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Buy Burial Rites by Hannah Kent from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781447233176
ISBN-10: 1447233174
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 24mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Picador
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 27-Feb-2014
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Burial Rites book by Hannah Kent and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Hannah Kent

Hannah Kent was born in Adelaide in 1985. As a teenager she travelled to Iceland on a Rotary Exchange, where she first heard the story of Agnes Magnusdottir and was inspired to write Burial Rites. Hannah is the co-founder and deputy editor of Australian literary journal Kill Your Darlings. In 2011 she won the inaugural Writing Australia Unpublished Manuscript Award. Burial Rites is her first novel and has garnered praise from best-selling authors such as Karin Slaughter, Charlotte Rogan, Pulitzer prize-winner Geraldine Brooks and Orange prize-winner Madeline Miller.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Hannah Kent

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
Paperback / softback, March 2014
$16.99 $19.99
Good People by Hannah Kent
Paperback / softback, August 2017
$16.99 $19.99