Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

mother's dayMother's Day is Sunday 13 May. Our Gift Guide is the best place to get gifts for Mum. Visit the Gift Guide Now...

Description - The Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich by Pauline Fairclough

As the Soviet Union's foremost composer, Shostakovich's status in the West has always been problematic. Regarded by some as a collaborator, and by others as a symbol of moral resistance, both he and his music met with approval and condemnation in equal measure. The demise of the Communist state has, if anything, been accompanied by a bolstering of his reputation, but critical engagement with his multi-faceted achievements has been patchy. This Companion offers a starting point and a guide for readers who seek a fuller understanding of Shostakovich's place in the history of music. Bringing together an international team of scholars, the book brings research to bear on the full range of Shostakovich's musical output, addressing scholars, students and all those interested in this complex, iconic figure.

Buy The Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich by Pauline Fairclough from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521603157
ISBN-10: 0521603153
Format: Paperback
(247mm x 174mm x 25mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich by Pauline Fairclough

Book Reviews - The Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich by Pauline Fairclough

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich book by Pauline Fairclough and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Pauline Fairclough

Pauline Fairclough is Lecturer in Music at the University of Bristol. David Fanning is Professor of Music at the University of Manchester.

Books By Pauline Fairclough

Classics for the Masses by Pauline Fairclough
Hardback, April 2016
Shostakovich Studies 2 by Pauline Fairclough
Hardback, November 2010
Soviet Credo by Pauline Fairclough
Hardback, February 2006