Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Chekhov - 4 Plays by Anton Chekhov

'I detest the life I lead now, but when I think about the future, well, that's something else! Everything seems so airy and bright, I can see a glimmer of light in the distance, I can see freedom...'

A physician by trade, Anton Chekhov was the author of many plays and short stories, and is widely regarded as the most notable dramatist writing at the turn of the twentieth century.

His four greatest tragicomedies ' The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard ' enshrine his status as one of the founding fathers of psychological realism and early modernism in European theatre.

This volume collects these four plays in sensitive and playable translations made direct from the original Russian, along with a full introduction to Chekhov, his times and his work.

The Nick Hern Books Drama Classic Collections bring together the most popular plays from a single author or a particular period. They offer students, actors and theatregoers a series of uncluttered, accessible editions, accompanied by comprehensive introductions.

Buy Chekhov - 4 Plays by Anton Chekhov from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781854598455
ISBN-10: 1854598457
Format: Paperback / softback
(195mm x 130mm x 15mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Nick Hern Books
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Publish Date: 27-May-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Chekhov - 4 Plays by Anton Chekhov

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Chekhov - 4 Plays book by Anton Chekhov and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

A Preview for this title is currently not available.