Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - A Christmas Mystery by William John Locke

William John Locke (1863-1930) was a novelist, short story writer, and playwright. Educated in Trinidad and at Cambridge, he entered on a career as a teacher in 1890, but disliked it; in 1897 he became secretary of the Royal Institute of British Architects, a post he held for a decade. In 1894 he published his first novel, At the Gate of Samaria (1894), but he did not achieve real success for another decade, with The Morals of Marcus Ordeyne (1905) and The Beloved Vagabond (1906). Chambers Biographical Dictionary wrote of his "long series of novels and plays which with their charmingly written sentimental themes had such a success during his life in both Britain and America... His plays, some of which were dramatized versions of his novels, were all produced with success on the London Stage." Amongst his other works are Septimus (1909), Simon the Jester (1910), Viviette (1916), A Christmas Mystery: The Story of Three Wise Men (1910), The Fortunate Youth (1914), Jaffery (1915) and The Mountebank (1921).

Buy A Christmas Mystery by William John Locke from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781409905080
ISBN-10: 140990508X
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 3mm)
Imprint: Dodo Press
Publisher: Dodo Press
Publish Date: 4-Apr-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - A Christmas Mystery by William John Locke

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Christmas Mystery book by William John Locke and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By William John Locke

Christmas Trilogy by William John Locke
Paperback / softback, August 2010
Glory of Clementina by William John Locke
Paperback / softback, April 2008