We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Cocaine and Surfing: An outrageous expose by Chas Smith

For readers of SCAR TISSUE by Anthony Kiedis, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET by Jordan Belfort, MP: THE LIFE OF MICHAEL PETERSON by Sean Doherty and OCCY: THE RISE AND FALL OF MARK OCCHILUPO by Tim Baker

There is an allure about surfers - they look like clean, bronzed athletes who love nature and tread lightly on the earth. But there has always been a darker side to surf culture. Chas Smith, ex-war correspondent and surf enthusiast, tells the no-holds-barred love affair of cocaine and surfing, and it makes for one hell of a story.

Surf trade shows in the 1980s were flooded in cocaine. The surf tour of the 1990s had virtually every competitor racking rails with the judges and the media before paddling out for heats. And in the new 21st century it has become completely untethered. There have been overdoses, bar fights, murders and cover-ups fuelled almost purely by cocaine.

Cocaine's place in surfing's past is mythic. Its place in surfing's present is undeniable. Its place in surfing's future is certain. There is something all too similar in riding a wave and smashing a bump. The rush is intense and beautiful and all too short. Altogether, it is a great untold story and Smith has interviewed everyone who matters, dug into the vibrant history to create a rip-roaring ride through surf culture that is enthralling, hilarious and utterly fascinating.

'a fascinating expose of surfing's untold story' GQ Australia

Buy Cocaine and Surfing: An outrageous expose by Chas Smith from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780733638718
Format: Paperback / softback
(197mm x 126mm x 18mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Hachette Australia
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Publish Date: 25-Jun-2019
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Cocaine and Surfing: An outrageous expose by Chas Smith

Book Reviews - Cocaine and Surfing: An outrageous expose by Chas Smith

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cocaine and Surfing: An outrageous expose book by Chas Smith and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.