Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Collected Poems of Muriel Rukeyser by Janet E. Kaufman

Muriel Rukeyser held a visionary belief in the human capacity to create social change through language. She earned an international reputation as a powerful voice against enforced silences of all kind, against the violence of war, poverty, and racism. Her eloquent poetry of witness - of the Scottsboro Nine, the Spanish Civil War, the poisoning of the Gauley Bridge laborers - split the darkness covering a shameful world. In addition to the complete texts of her twelve previously published books, this volume also features new poems discovered by the editors; Rukeyser's translations, including the first English translations of Octavio Paz's work; early work by Rukeyser not previously published in book form; and the controversial book-length poem ""Wake Island"". An introduction by the editors traces Rukeyser's life and literary reputation and complements discerning annotations and textual notes to the poems.

Buy The Collected Poems of Muriel Rukeyser by Janet E. Kaufman from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780822959243
ISBN-10: 0822959240
Format: Paperback
Pages: 712
Imprint: University of Pittsburgh Press
Publisher: University of Pittsburgh Press
Publish Date: 15-May-2006
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Collected Poems of Muriel Rukeyser by Janet E. Kaufman

Book Reviews - The Collected Poems of Muriel Rukeyser by Janet E. Kaufman

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Poems of Muriel Rukeyser book by Janet E. Kaufman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Janet E. Kaufman

JANET E. KAUFMAN is assistant professor of English at the University of Utah. ANNE F. HERZOG is associate professor of English at West Chester University. They are coeditors of ""How Shall We Tell Each Other of the Poet?"": The Life and Writing of Muriel Rukeyser. JAN HELLER LEVI'S Once I Gazed at You in Wonder won the 1998 Walt Whitman Award. She is working on a biography of Muriel Rukeyser.