Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Collected Poems: Mervyn Peake by Mervyn Peake

It is forty years since the death of Mervyn Peake (1911-68), the author of the much-loved "Gormenghast" novels. To mark the anniversary this first comprehensive edition of Peake's poetry is published. Of the more than 230 poems in the collection, over 80 are printed for the first time. Peake emerges as a compelling poet, with an acute sense of his responsibilities as an artist, passionately engaged with current events, from unemployment in the 1930s to the horrors of the London Blitz and the concentration camp at Bergen-Belsen. He is also a fine love-poet and a sensitive observer of the human form. Readers who love the world of Peake's novels, and those who are new to his work, will discover here one of the great originals of the twentieth century.

Buy Collected Poems: Mervyn Peake by Mervyn Peake from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857549713
ISBN-10: 1857549716
Format: Paperback
Pages: 280
Imprint: Fyfield Books
Publisher: Carcanet Press Ltd
Publish Date: 26-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Collected Poems: Mervyn Peake by Mervyn Peake

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Poems: Mervyn Peake book by Mervyn Peake and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mervyn Peake

Mervyn Peake (1911-1968) was a novelist, poet, playwright, painter, illustrator and children's writer. He spent most of his childhood south of Peking, in Tientsin, China. His family returned to England in 1923 and Peake enrolled at the Royal Academy in December, 1929. 1939 saw Peake's first solo exhibition, and the following year witnessed the publication of his first book, Captain Slaughterboard. During the war Peake joined the Royal Artillery. Titus Groan was published in 1946, followed by Gormenghast in 1950. At the age of 46 Peake developed Parkinson's disease, but was still able to complete Titus Alone which was subsequently published in 1959.

Books By Mervyn Peake

Craft of the Lead Pencil by Mervyn Peake
Hardback, August 2016
$26.96 $29.95
Book of Nonsense by Mervyn Peake
Paperback, July 2011
$22.49 $24.99
Complete Nonsense by Mervyn Peake
Paperback, July 2011
$38.66 $42.95
Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake
Paperback, April 1999
$13.49 $14.99