Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Collected Stories of Richard Yates by Richard Yates

Richard Yates was one of the most powerful, compassionate, and technically accomplished writers of America's post-war generation. His work inspired writers such as Richard Ford, Andre Dubus, Robert Stone, and Kurt Vonnegut, and his 1961 novel, Revolutionary Road, is an acknowledged classic of American literature. This volume contains the entirety of Yates's peerless short fiction, including the stories from his collections Eleven Kinds of Loneliness (hailed by The New York Times Book Review as "the New York equivalent of Dubliners") and Liars in Love. This superb collection also offers nine new stories, seven of which have never before been published. Whether addressing the smothered desire of suburban housewives, the white-collar despair of Manhattan office workers, the grim humour that attends life on a tuberculosis ward, or the heartbreak of a single mother with artistic pretensions, Yates ruthlessly examines every frayed corner and tear in the American dream. Published with a moving introduction by the novelist Richard Russo, The Collected Stories of Richard Yates will stand as its author's final masterpiece.

Buy The Collected Stories of Richard Yates by Richard Yates from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780413771261
ISBN-10: 0413771261
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Methuen Publishing Ltd
Publisher: Methuen Publishing Ltd
Publish Date: 2-Sep-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Collected Stories of Richard Yates by Richard Yates

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Stories of Richard Yates book by Richard Yates and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Richard Yates

Richard Yates was born in 1926 in New York and lived in California. His prize-winning stories began to appear in 1953, and Revolutionary Road, his first novel, was nominated for the National Book Award in 1961. He died in 1992.

Books By Richard Yates

Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
Paperback, December 2007
Ascent by Richard Yates
Hardback, July 2006
Disturbing the Peace by Richard Yates
Paperback, April 1984