Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

The only American dramatist awarded the Noble Prize for Literature, Eugene O'Neill wrote with poetic expressiveness, emotional intensity, and immense dramatic power. On the centenary of his birth The Library of America is publishing the first complete collection of O'Neill's plays. This volume, the second of three, contains 13 plays written between 1920 and 1931, years in which O'Neill achieved his greatest popularity while experimenting with a wide variety of subject and styles.

Buy Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780940450493
ISBN-10: 0940450496
Format: Hardback
Pages: 1092
Imprint: The Library of America
Publisher: The Library of America
Publish Date: 31-Dec-1998
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

Book Reviews - Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Complete Plays book by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

Eugene O'Neill (1888-1953) is one of the most significant forces in the history of American theater. With no uniquely American tradition to guide him, O'Neill introduced various dramatic techniques, which subsequently became staples of the U.S. theater. By 1914 he had written twelve one-act and two long plays. Of this early work, only Thirst and Other One-act plays (1914) was originally published. From this point on, O'Neill's work falls roughly into three phases: the early plays, written from 1914 to 1921 (The Long Voyage Home, The Moon of the Caribbees, Beyond the Horizon, Anna Christie); a variety of full-length plays for Broadway (Desire Under the Elms; Great God Brown; Ah, Wilderness!); and the last, great plays, written between 1938 and his death (The Iceman Cometh, Long Day's Journey Into Night, A Moon for the Misbegotten). Eugene O'Neill is a four-time Pulitzer Prize winner, and he was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature in 1936.

Books By Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

Long Day's Journey into Night by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, May 1991
$19.79 $21.99
Desire Under the Elms/The Great God Brown by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, August 1995
$26.09 $28.99
Hairy Ape/All God (TM)s  Chillun Got Wings by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, March 1994
$21.59 $23.99
Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Hardback, October 1988
$70.82 $78.69