0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Cranky Ballerina by Elise Gravel

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada plies right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban's Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada's stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book-full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel's signature vibrant illustrations-is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet-and definitely those who don't-will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn't like in order to discover what she loves.

Buy The Cranky Ballerina by Elise Gravel from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780062351241
ISBN-10: 0062351249
Format: Hardback
(229mm x 229mm x 6mm)
Pages: 32
Imprint: HarperCollins
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publish Date: 8-Sep-2016
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Cranky Ballerina by Elise Gravel

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cranky Ballerina book by Elise Gravel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Elise Gravel

Elise Gravel always liked bugs and cats and lizards and other bizarre creatures. Oh, and she also loves baby humans, who she finds very weird and adorable. The author-illustrator of Adopt a Glurb! and the Disgusting Critters series, Elise lives in Montreal, Canada, with her husband, two daughters, and two cranky cats, so she would be extremely happy if she could have a pet monster as well. Can she have one, please, please, pretty please?

A Preview for this title is currently not available.