Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Crowned Skull (Dodo Press) by Fergus Hume

Fergusson Wright Hume, known as Fergus Hume (1859- 1932) was an English novelist. Shortly after graduation he left for Melbourne. He began writing plays, but found it impossible to persuade the managers of the Melbourne theatres to accept or even read them. Finding that the novels of Emile Gaboriau were then very popular in Melbourne, he obtained and read a set of them and determined to write a novel of a similar kind. The result was the self-published novel The Mystery of a Hansom Cab (1886), which became a great success. After the success of his first novel and the publication of another he returned to England in 1888. He resided in the Essex countryside for thirty years, eventually producing over 100 novels and short stories. He was a capable writer of mystery stories, and may be looked upon as one of the precursors of the many writers of detective stories whose work was so popular in the twentieth century. His other works include Madame Midas (1888), The Silent House (1899), The Bishop's Secret (1900), Secret Passage (1905), The Green Mummy (1908), and Red Money (1912).

Buy The Crowned Skull (Dodo Press) by Fergus Hume from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781409905363
ISBN-10: 1409905365
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 15mm)
Imprint: Dodo Press
Publisher: Dodo Press
Publish Date: 4-Apr-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Crowned Skull (Dodo Press) by Fergus Hume

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Crowned Skull (Dodo Press) book by Fergus Hume and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Fergus Hume

Mystery of a Hansom Cab by Fergus Hume
Paperback / softback, July 2017
$16.99 $19.99
Madame Midas: Text Classics by Fergus Hume
Paperback / softback, January 2017
$11.01 $12.95
Madame Midas by Fergus Hume
Paperback / softback, August 1999
$22.10 $26.00
Millionaire Mystery by Fergus Hume
Hardback, June 2018
$31.67 $35.19