0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends by Adriano Sack

'Curiouser and curioser' -fun and fascinating facts from the world of drugs.

Following in the tradition of The Ultimate Book of Useless Information, The Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends is a wry potpourri of interesting information about every conceivable kind of drug. Readers can feed their heads with anecdotes, facts, lists, statistics, and illustrations, including-

The test results of animals on LSD-cats lose their fear of dogs, and goats walk in geometric patterns
Drugs found in nature, from magic mushrooms to St. John's wort to beaver secretions
Celebrities who overdosed at age 27-Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, Brian Jones, and Jean Michel-Basquiat
Imaginary drugs in literature and film, from spice the melange in Dune to Moloko plus in A Clockwork Orange
Nicknames for a joint-from doobie to giggly stick to Mr. Boom Bizzle
The global percentages of adults who have used cannabis-.004 percent in Singapore and 12.6 percent in the United States
The uses of opium in ancient Rome-from treatments for insomnia and epilepsy to colic and deafness
The most glamorous rehab clinics and their celebrity alumni
Mini-biographies of the biggest drug kingpins around the world
Wacky but well-researched, unbiased and shameless, The Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends dares to take readers on a long, strange trivia trip.

Buy The Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends by Adriano Sack from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780452289918
ISBN-10: 0452289912
Format: Paperback / softback
(197mm x 130mm x 13mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Plume
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Publish Date: 26-Aug-2008
Country of Publication: India

Book Reviews - The Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends by Adriano Sack

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Curious World of Drugs and Their Friends book by Adriano Sack and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Adriano Sack

Adriano Sack is a freelance journalist living in New York City.Ingo Niermann is a writer living in Berlin.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.