Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Darwin's Fox and My Coyote by Holly Menino

A rare fox in the South American cordillera. A disappearing fox on an island off California. A common coyote in the Albany suburbs. How do these wild carnivores live? And what is it about the places they live that allows them to survive? Holly Menino joins up with three young scientists to find out, and along the way is drawn into a broader consideration of the science that defines these animals' natural histories.With the same intelligent, lucid style that made 'Forward Motion' such a success, "Darwin's Fox and My Coyote" is a sympathetic but unsentimental examination of animals in their habitats. Field biology spearheaded the animal conservation movement by creating a new awareness of wild animals and bringing to public consciousness their needs and vulnerabilities. The conservation movement has fostered a general sense that land is shifting out from under wild animals at a pace that threatens their very survival. But if that threat is known, it is little understood. Few realize that animals are becoming extinct at rates that far exceed the ability of scientists to help stabilize their populations. Menino confronts the public attitudes that reinforce these calamitous realities and thwart animal conservation efforts.In the tradition of "Silent Spring and A Sand County Almanac", "Darwin's Fox and My Coyote" is thought-provoking, alarming, and unapologetic. It is, most important, a call to action.

Buy Darwin's Fox and My Coyote by Holly Menino from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780813926759
ISBN-10: 0813926750
Format: Hardback
(229mm x 152mm x mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: University of Virginia Press
Publisher: University of Virginia Press
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Darwin's Fox and My Coyote by Holly Menino

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Darwin's Fox and My Coyote book by Holly Menino and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Holly Menino

Holly Menino is a freelance writer whose articles have appeared in National Geographic and Smithsonian. She is the author of Forward Motion: Horses, Humans, and the Competitive Enterprise, which was selected as a Borders "Original Voice."