Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Daughters of Courage by Margaret Dickinson

Following the gripping story of the Ryan family in Margaret Dickinson's top ten bestseller The Buffer Girls, Daughters of Courage sees Emily and Trip fight to keep their new life afloat in the turbulent 1930s.

Emily Ryan has gone up in the world since her arrival in Sheffield. Brought there by her mother's ambitious schemes for her brother, Josh, she had found work as a buffer girl polishing cutlery in the city's famous trade. With the help of a friend, Nell, Emily eventually set up her own buffing business employing those with whom she had once worked.

Married to Thomas Trippet - 'Trip' to his friends - they plan to build a life together, but when Nell's daughter disappears it seems that the menace from the past is never very far away. Trip is now a partner with his half-brother in the Trippet family's cutlery manufacturing business, but their success is threatened by the Great Depression of the 1930s. Can Emily keep their family and friends safe from the shadow of unemployment?

And then comes the threat of another war . . .

Buy Daughters of Courage by Margaret Dickinson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781447290919
ISBN-10: 1447290917
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 153mm x 40mm)
Pages: 512
Imprint: Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 12-Jan-2017
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Daughters of Courage by Margaret Dickinson

Book Reviews - Daughters of Courage by Margaret Dickinson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Daughters of Courage book by Margaret Dickinson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Margaret Dickinson

Born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, Margaret Dickinson moved to the coast at the age of seven and so began her love for the sea and the Lincolnshire landscape. Her ambition to be a writer began early and she had her first novel published at the age of twenty-five. This was followed by many further titles including Plough the Furrow, Sow the Seed and Reap the Harvest, which make up her Lincolnshire Fleethaven trilogy. She is also the author of Fairfield Hall, Welcome Home and The Clippie Girls. Margaret is a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

Books By Margaret Dickinson

River Folk by Margaret Dickinson
Paperback / softback, February 2013
$13.49 $14.99
Sons and Daughters by Margaret Dickinson
Paperback / softback, September 2015
$23.59 $26.21
The Brooklands Girls by Margaret Dickinson
Hardback, January 2019
$40.43 $44.92
Beloved Enemy by Margaret Dickinson
Hardback, November 2014
$34.34 $38.16