Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Daughters Of Mars by Tom Keneally

In the tradition of Atonement and Birdsong, the Durance sisters leave Australia to nurse on the front during WWI and discover a world beyond their imaginings.

Shortlisted for the Colin Roderick Prize.

Naomi and Sally Durance are daughters of a dairy farmer from the Macleay Valley. Bound together in complicity by what they consider a crime, when the Great War begins in 1914 they hope to submerge their guilt by leaving for Europe to nurse the tides of young wounded.

They head for the Dardanelles on the hospital ship Archimedes. Their education in medicine, valour and human degradation continues on the Greek island of Lemnos, then on the Western Front. Here, new outrages - gas, shell-shock - present themselves.

Naomi encounters the wonderful, eccentric Lady Tarlton, who is founding a voluntary hospital near Boulogne; Sally serves in a casualty clearing station close to the front. They meet the men with whom they would wish to spend the rest of their lives.

Inspired by the journals of Australian nurses who gave their all to the Great War effort and the men they nursed. The Daughters of Mars is vast in scope yet extraordinarily intimate. A stunning tour de force to join the best First World War literature, and one that casts a penetrating light on the lives of obscure but strong women caught in the great mill of history.

Buy The Daughters Of Mars by Tom Keneally from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780143790822
ISBN-10: 014379082X
Format: Paperback / softback
(197mm x 129mm x 39mm)
Pages: 608
Imprint: Penguin Books Australia
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Publish Date: 19-Mar-2018
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The Daughters Of Mars by Tom Keneally

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Daughters Of Mars book by Tom Keneally and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Tom Keneally

Tom Keneally won the Booker Prize in 1982 with Schindler's Ark, later made into the Steven Spielberg Academy Award-winning film Schindler's List. His non-fiction includes the memoir Searching for Schindler and Three Famines, an LA Times Book of the Year, and the histories The Commonwealth of Thieves, The Great Shame and American Scoundrel. His fiction includes Shame and the Captives, The Daughters of Mars, The Widow and Her Hero (shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award), An Angel in Australia and Bettany's Book. His novels The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith, Gossip from the Forest, and Confederates were all shortlisted for the Booker Prize, while Bring Larks and Heroes and Three Cheers for the Paraclete won the Miles Franklin Award. The People's Train was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award and shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize, South East Asia division.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Tom Keneally

Place at Whitton by Tom Keneally
Hardback, June 2014
$25.49 $29.99
Shame and the Captives by Tom Keneally
Hardback, November 2013
$38.25 $45.00
Three Cheers For The Paraclete by Tom Keneally
Paperback / softback, April 2008
$16.99 $19.99
Crimes of the Father by Tom Keneally
Paperback / softback, September 2017
$19.54 $22.99