We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Death in a Desert Land by Andrew Wilson

'Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining - one feels Agatha Christie would have been delighted' - LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

I'm Mrs Christie. I think you are expecting me...

Baghdad, 1928. Agatha leaves England for the far-flung destination, determined to investigate an unresolved mystery: two year ago, the explorer and the writer Gertrude Bell died there from a drugs overdose. At the time, the authorities believed that Bell had taken her own life, but a letter now unearthed reveals she was afraid someone wants to kill her...

In her letter, Bell suggests that if she were to die the best place to look for her murderer would be Ur, the archaeological site in ancient Mesopotamia famous for its Great Death Pit.

But as Agatha stealthily begins to look into the death of Gertrude Bell, she soon discovers the mission is not without its risks. And she has to use all her skills to try and outwit a killer who is determined to stay hidden among the desert sands...

'A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series. Fizzy with charm yet edge with menace, Andrew Wilson's Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud' A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

'Beautifully written. Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side' JANE CORRY

'An affectionate homage to Agatha Christie's desert dramas with a cheeky nod to Paul Bowles' The Sheltering Sky. A superior blend of fact and fiction, it's a hugely entertaining riot of red herrings, poisonous plots and boiling passions under the white hot desert sun. A must for connoisseurs of Golden Age crime fiction' SEAN O'CONNOR

'Five stars . . . Brilliantly plotted, stylishly written. A treat!' AMANDA CRAIG

'Wilson cleverly riffs on one of Christie's own novels en route to a crafty and satisfying solution. Wilson strikes gold again' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

'Fans of Agatha Christie and Sophie Hannah will welcome this latest in Wilson's series starring Christie as an amateur sleuth . . . the enjoyably exasperating characters involved in this well-executed mystery are a treat, too' BOOKLIST

Praise for Andrew Wilson:

'Wilson not only knows his subject but he deftly moves the tale away from mere literary ventriloquism and into darker territory. Great fun, too' - Observer

'Reinvents the story of Agatha Christie'smysterious disappearance with thrilling results' - Guardian

Buy Death in a Desert Land by Andrew Wilson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781471173486
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 153mm x 25mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date: 11-Jul-2019
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Death in a Desert Land by Andrew Wilson

Book Reviews - Death in a Desert Land by Andrew Wilson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Death in a Desert Land book by Andrew Wilson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.