Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Down in Laos by Francis J Partel

Down in Laos is a superbly written war story set in Southeast Asia during the seizure of USS Pueblo, the Tet Offensive, and the Battle of Khe Sanh in 1968. Down in Laos is not a tiny story. It is a classic suspense, action-thriller about a naval ship, an air wing, and a pilot who is shot down and becomes a prisoner of the Pathet Lao. Mr. Partel not only entertains his readers in page-turning style, he leaves them a little smarter about the world. His self-described genre-journalistic fiction-provides the latitude to bring observations and ideas to the attention of the reader. So when downed navy pilot, Lt. Campbell, becomes a prisoner of war brutalized at the hands of the Pathet Lao, his plight parallels the Book of Job and subtly provides a comparison of Western Civilization with totalitarian states that lack a moral compass. And Mr. Partel's sense of history does not ignore the social issues of the mid 1960's in military and civilian life, and in the tradition of South Pacific, Down in Laos touches on these issues briefly but deftly. This is authentic historical fiction about the naval air war in Southeast Asia for avid military readers. And for readers who want the historical background and the social context reminiscent of Patrick O'Brian's naval novels of the Napoleonic Wars, they will find this tradition carried forward 150 years as USS Ticonderoga, Attack Carrier 14, succeeds the frigate in this well-written expression of modern naval fiction. -Navy Log Books

Buy Down in Laos by Francis J Partel from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780989305969
ISBN-10: 0989305961
Format: Paperback / softback
(229mm x 152mm x 18mm)
Pages: 322
Imprint: Navy Log LLC
Publisher: Navy Log LLC
Publish Date: 27-Jul-2015
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Down in Laos by Francis J Partel

Book Reviews - Down in Laos by Francis J Partel

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Down in Laos book by Francis J Partel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Books By Francis J Partel

Chess Players, a Novel of the Cold War at Sea by Francis J Partel
Paperback / softback, March 2011
$37.70