We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Eating With My Mouth Open by Sam van Zweden

'To eat is to build upon our collective story. We use food to say, again and again, who we are.'

Eating with My Mouth Openis food writing like you've never seen before: honest, bold, and exceptionally tasty. Sam van Zweden's personal and cultural exploration of food, memory, and hunger revels in body positivity, dissects wellness culture and all its flaws, and shares the joys of being part of a family of chefs.

Celebrating food and all the bodies it nurtures,Eating with My Mouth Open considers the true meaning of nourishment within the broken food system we live in. Not holding back from difficult conversations about mental illness, weight, and wellbeing, Sam van Zweden advocates for body politics that are empowering, productive, and meaningful.

'This is writing as sustenance. The book's moments of deep insight and intimacy, all its quiet revolutions, are answerable - as is the case with the most enduring nonfiction - to two gods only: truth and nurture.' - Maria Tumarkin, author of Axiomatic

'Eating with My Mouth Open feels like being gifted the most glorious odd-box from the Farmers' Market: inside are delicious, unnamable fruits and shining vegetables. Van Zweden's writing is at once both nourishing and thorny, generous and eclectic, sumptuous and piquant. This book marks the arrival of a fresh voice in Australian nonfiction.' - Rebecca Giggs, author of Fathoms: The world in the whale

'Amazingly attuned to those tender points where food tangles with family, trauma, illness and mental wellbeing - Sam van Zweden describes everyday food moments with clarity and compassion in a way that made me fall in love with food all over again.' - Ruby Tandoh, author of Eat Up!

'In this excruciating time of bougie food-for-cultural-capital, of 'body-positive' rah-rah, of food-loving, body-shaming confusion, Sam van Zweden cuts through the bullshit, arguing that food is for love, and that if we love food, we must love the bodies that food nurtures. Van Zweden is a masterful caretaker of the bodies that have been left out.' - Ellena Savage, author of Blueberries

'Eating With my Mouth Open is a beautiful book: heartfelt, intelligent and full of love.' - Fiona Wright, author of The World Was Whole and Small Acts of Disappearance

'Sam van Zweden's Eating With My Mouth Open is at once an expressive memoir and a cultural commentary on the role of food in our lives...Fans of Roxane Gay, Lindy West or Clare Bowditch's Your Own Kind of Girl will get a lot from this book, but perhaps more importantly it is an ideal read for anyone new to the concepts of body politics and fat activism.' - Books+Publishing

Buy Eating With My Mouth Open by Sam van Zweden from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781742236988
Format: Paperback / softback
(210mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: NewSouth Publishing
Publisher: NewSouth Publishing
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2021
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Eating With My Mouth Open by Sam van Zweden

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eating With My Mouth Open book by Sam van Zweden and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.