Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Eugene O'Neill by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

This third and final volume volume of the first complete collection of O'Neill's dramatic writing contains eight plays, including the crowning achievements of his career. From the warmly nostalgic "Ah, Wilderness!, " an uncharacteristically affectionate evocation of the world of his childhood, and "Days Without End," a stark portrayal of spiritual conflict, he moved on to the great culmination of his work for the theater: "A touch of the Poet and more Stately Mansions" included here in it's entirety), parts of an ambitious, uncompleted cycle tracing a complex family drama; "The Iceman Cometh," which brilliantly uses its skid-row tavern setting to pit escapist dreams against tragic realities; the two-character tour de force "Hughie; Long Day's Journey into Night," the devastating portrait of the playwright's own family widely viewed as his masterpiece; and his last play, "A Moon for the Misbegotten"

Buy Eugene O'Neill by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780940450509
ISBN-10: 094045050X
Format: Paperback
Pages: 1007
Imprint: The Library of America
Publisher: The Library of America
Publish Date: 1-Oct-1988
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Eugene O'Neill by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eugene O'Neill book by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

Eugene O'Neill (1888-1953) is one of the most significant forces in the history of American theater. With no uniquely American tradition to guide him, O'Neill introduced various dramatic techniques, which subsequently became staples of the U.S. theater. By 1914 he had written twelve one-act and two long plays. Of this early work, only Thirst and Other One-act plays (1914) was originally published. From this point on, O'Neill's work falls roughly into three phases: the early plays, written from 1914 to 1921 (The Long Voyage Home, The Moon of the Caribbees, Beyond the Horizon, Anna Christie); a variety of full-length plays for Broadway (Desire Under the Elms; Great God Brown; Ah, Wilderness!); and the last, great plays, written between 1938 and his death (The Iceman Cometh, Long Day's Journey Into Night, A Moon for the Misbegotten). Eugene O'Neill is a four-time Pulitzer Prize winner, and he was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature in 1936.

Books By Eugene Gladstone O'Neill

Desire Under the Elms/The Great God Brown by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, August 1995
$25.51 $28.99
Long Day's Journey into Night by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, May 1991
$19.35 $21.99
Hairy Ape/All God (TM)s  Chillun Got Wings by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Paperback, March 1994
$21.11 $23.99
Complete Plays by Eugene Gladstone O'Neill
Hardback, October 1988
$71.90 $81.71