Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION

This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...

Buy Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780008134648
ISBN-10: 0008134642
Format: Paperback / softback
(216mm x 135mm x 21mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: HarperCollins
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 26-Feb-2018
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

Book Reviews - Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Flamingo Boy book by Michael Morpurgo and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo OBE is one of Britain's best-loved writers for children, and has sold more than 35 million books around the world. He has written more than 150 novels and won many prizes, including the Smarties Prize, the Whitbread Award and the Blue Peter Book Award, while several of his books have been adapted for stage and screen, including the global theatrical phenomenon War Horse. Michael was Children's Laureate from 2003 to 2005, and founded the charity Farms for City Children with his wife, Clare. He was knighted in 2018 for services to literature and charity.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo also bought the following titles:

Dance in the Dark by Sophie Cleverly
Paperback / softback, May 2016
$13.43 $15.99
Whispers in the Walls by Sophie Cleverly
Paperback / softback, November 2015
$13.43 $15.99
Scythe by Neal Shusterman
Paperback / softback, February 2018
$14.27 $16.99
Friday Barnes 8 by R.A. Spratt
Paperback / softback, January 2018
$13.43 $15.99

Books By Michael Morpurgo

Orchard Aesop's Fables by Michael Morpurgo
Hardback, October 2004
$31.49 $34.99
Robin of Sherwood by Michael Morpurgo
Hardback, July 2018
$29.69 $32.99
Arthur, High King of Britain by Michael Morpurgo
Hardback, October 2017
$29.69 $32.99
Joan of Arc by Michael Morpurgo
Hardback, October 2018
$29.69 $32.99