Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION This is a landmark new novel form the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...

Buy Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780008134648
ISBN-10: 0008134642
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: HarperCollins
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 19-Feb-2018
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Flamingo Boy book by Michael Morpurgo and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo OBE is one of Britain's best-loved writers for children. He has written over 100 books and won many prizes, including the Smarties Prize, the Blue Peter Book Award and the Whitbread Award. His recent bestselling novels include `Shadow', `A Medal for Leroy' and `Little Manfred'. His novel `War Horse' has been successfully adapted as a West End and Broadway theatre play and a major film by Steven Spielberg. A former Children's Laureate, Michael is also the co-founder, with his wife Clare, of the charity Farms for City Children.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo also bought the following titles:

Books By Michael Morpurgo

Eagle in the Snow by Michael Morpurgo
Paperback, January 2018
$13.44
Who's a Big Bully Then? by Michael Morpurgo
Paperback, January 2018
$12.08
Wartman by Michael Morpurgo
Paperback, January 2018
$12.08
We Are Not Frogs! by Michael Morpurgo
Paperback, January 2018
$11.69