We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Fools Rule by William Marsden

"This eloquent, rage-inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery, George Monbiot and Bill McKibben - and anyone concerned with the economic and environmental future of our planet. Kyoto, 1997. Montreal, 2005. Copenhagen, 2009. Cancun, 2010. In Fools Rule, Marsden illustrates how inefficient and short-sighted political negotiations have become despite mounting scientific evidence that immediate action is essential to curb the effects of climate change. International climate change summits are now widely monitored events, attended by state leaders and crowded with journalists; yet somehow they have never been less productive. Treaties and action plans are smothered by economic self-interest, diplomatic errors and every nation's hungry scramble for its share of the remaining atmospheric space. Marsden takes us from inside the bungled negotiations at Copenhagen to the melting glaciers and untapped oil reserves of the Arctic; he shows us the paralyzing effect oil and gas companies have on green legal initiatives in the United States, and therefore on any international climate change treaty; and, with wit and penetr

Buy Fools Rule by William Marsden from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780307398253
ISBN-10: 0307398250
Format: Paperback / softback
(203mm x 131mm x mm)
Pages: 342
Imprint: Vintage Books
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 15-Aug-2012
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Fools Rule by William Marsden

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Fools Rule book by William Marsden and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - William Marsden

WILLIAM MARSDEN is author of Stupid to the Last Drop and co-author of the national bestsellers Angels of Death and The Road to Hell. He is a senior investigative reporter for the Gazette in Montreal. i>From the Hardcover edition.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.