Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Ghostspeaking by Peter Boyle

Eleven fictive poets from Latin America, France and Quebec. Their poems, interviews, biographies and letters weave images of diverse lives and poetics. In the tradition of Fernando Pessoa, Boyle presents an array of at times humorous, at times tormented heteronymous poets. In their varied voices and styles, writing as they do across the span of the 20th Century and into the 21st , these haunted and haunting figures offer one of poetry's oldest gifts - to sing beauty in the face of death. In all this Boyle, their fictive translator, is deeply enmeshed.

"As in his ground-breaking work, Apocrypha, Peter Boyle plays hauntingly and movingly with character and voice in this brilliant new collection. The often broken, dark-edged lives of his `translated' poets are rendered in language that is both intimate and universal. These poems and prose pieces span cultures and contexts to evoke an intoxicating range of human feeling and experience. Boyle's poetry confronts the dark, but it is also uplifting in its perfection of craft and for the way it radiates the enormous power that poetry has to uncover deep, surprising knowledge. I can think of no Australian poet more deserving of a central place on the world stage than Peter Boyle. His imaginative sweep is staggering." - Judith Beveridge

"Somewhere between a brief, succulent anthology of the best twentieth century poetry and a rare contemporary novel, Ghostspeaking rescues, from a world within this one, eleven poets who never existed. But that can never be said again. These lives and works are so convincing that readers will trawl the web to learn more about them. All of the writers gathered here are wonderful, some quite remarkable: what then does that leave us to say of the man who created them?" - David Brooks

Buy Ghostspeaking by Peter Boyle from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781922181787
ISBN-10: 1922181781
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 148mm x 21mm)
Pages: 370
Imprint: Vagabond Press
Publisher: Vagabond Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2016
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Ghostspeaking by Peter Boyle

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Ghostspeaking book by Peter Boyle and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Ghostspeaking by Peter Boyle also bought the following titles:

Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Paperback / softback, October 2016
$16.99 $19.99
One-Punch Man, Vol. 6 by Yusuke Murata
Paperback / softback, May 2016
$12.74 $14.99

Books By Peter Boyle

Towns in the Great Desert by Peter Boyle
Paperback / softback, November 2013
$25.46 $29.95
Cancer Mapping by Peter Boyle
Hardback, June 1989
Cephalopods by Peter Boyle
Hardback, April 2005
$338.36 $375.95
Alcohol by Peter Boyle
Hardback, March 2013
$151.16 $167.95