0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Grief on the Frontlines: Doctors, Nurses, and Healthcare Workers Speak Out on the Invisible Wounds They Carry by Rachel Jones

For readers of Atul Gawande and Siddhartha Mukherjee--a timely, vital exploration of the burnout, grief, depression, and trauma that America's healthcare system engenders among doctors, nurses, and medical workers.

Practicing medicine is traumatic- coping with the death of a patient, sharing a life-changing diagnosis, grieving futility in the face of a no-win situation. The emotional burden placed on doctors, nurses, and other healthcare practitioners is profound...and yet their suffering is often displaced, dismissed, or unrecognized.

Here, Rachel Jones breaks the silence, daring to imagine a future where every healthcare worker is provided with the right tools to process grief, the space to integrate trauma, and--most importantly--the knowledge that they're not alone. Drawing from the latest research and more than 100 interviews with healthcare professionals across different specialties, backgrounds, and institutions, Jones identifies how US medicine fails its workers--and how it can do better.

Speaking with urgency about the systemic shortcomings that contribute to widespread depression, burnout, suicide, and PTSD among physicians and nurses--a culture of stoicism, the pressure of 80-hour workweeks--Grief on the Front Lines shares the stories of everyday healthcare heroes and offers a glimpse into the educational programs, retreats, therapeutic offerings, and peer support networks already building a hopeful new culture of medicine that cares for its own.

Buy Grief on the Frontlines: Doctors, Nurses, and Healthcare Workers Speak Out on the Invisible Wounds They Carry by Rachel Jones from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781623176402
Format: Paperback / softback
(229mm x 152mm x mm)
Pages: 300
Imprint: North Atlantic Books,U.S.
Publisher: North Atlantic Books,U.S.
Publish Date: 17-May-2022
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Grief on the Frontlines: Doctors, Nurses, and Healthcare Workers Speak Out on the Invisible Wounds They Carry by Rachel Jones

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Grief on the Frontlines: Doctors, Nurses, and Healthcare Workers Speak Out on the Invisible Wounds They Carry book by Rachel Jones and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.