Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Grimus by Salman Rushdie

Flapping Eagle is a young Indian given the gift of immortality after drinking a magic fluid. Tiring of the burden of immortal life he sets off to find the mystical Calf Island, where he can rejoin the human race. His journey is peopled with strange assortments of characters, including the clumsy, loquacious Virgil Jones; his ugly, tragic companion, Dolores O'Toole; the wicked conjurer, Nicholas Deggle; the dainty, light-spirited Elfrida Gribb; and the enigmatic, pervasive Grimus, creator and controller of the mysterious island. An enticing combination of science fantasy, storytelling and folklore makes this first novel by Salman Rushdie an epic adventure truly unlike any other.

Buy Grimus by Salman Rushdie from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099592716
ISBN-10: 0099592711
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 21mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Grimus by Salman Rushdie

UK Kirkus Review » Rushdie's first novel finds a young Indian boy named Flapping Eagle receiving the gift of immortality after drinking a magic fluid. The burden this brings, however, proves too much and he sets out on a wide search for the place where he can rejoin the human race - the mystical Calf island - meeting a host of weird and wonderful characters on the way. (Kirkus UK)

US Kirkus Review » The hero of this intricately plotted first novel is Flapping Eagle, an outcast Indian weary of the immortality conferred on him some 700 years ago by a mysterious elixir. There is, he is told, one haven where he can shed the burden of changelessness: Calf Island. But once there, he finds that the denizens of the islands - also recruits to immortality - have retreated into frozen and change-denying obsession in an attempt to stave off the disintegrating influence of the "Grimus Effect" emanating from the cloudy summit of Calf Mountain, home of the island's maker. Rushdie unwinds solutions to his various conundrums - involving a misappropriated alien artifact and a plurality of probability-continuums - with inventive wit and an elegant sense of pacing. The story is ultimately overburdened with ingenuities, but for the most part they are real ingenuities. An imagination to watch. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Grimus book by Salman Rushdie and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie is the author of eight novels:Grimus, Midnight's Children (which was awarded the Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Prize), Shame (winner of the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger), The Satanic Verses (winner of the Whtibread Prize for Best Novel), Haroun and the Sea of Stories (winner of the Writers' Guild Award), The Moor's Last Sigh (winner of the Whitbread Novel of the Year Award), The Ground Beneath Her Feet and Fury. He has also published a collection of short stories, Eats, West; a book of reportage, The Jaguar Smile: A Nicaraguan Journey; a volume of essays, Imaginary Homelands; and a work of film criticism, 'The Wizard of Oz'. Salman Rushdie was awarded Germany's Author of the Year Award for his novel The Satanic Verses in 1989. In 1993, Midnight's Children was adjudged the 'Booker of Bookers', the best novel to have won the Booker Prize in its first 25 years. IN the same year he was awarded the Austrian State Prize for European Literature. He is also an Honorary Professor on the Humanities at the Massachusetts Institute f Technology (MIT) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His books have been published in more than two dozen languages.

Books By Salman Rushdie

Golden House by Salman Rushdie
Paperback, September 2017
Home by Salman Rushdie
Paperback, June 2017
Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie
Paperback / softback, July 2016
King of the World by Salman Rushdie
Paperback, October 2015