0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

The fourth book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series

"Marillier's gripping tale of adventure and enduring love ... slides quickly and assuredly into a grand tale of ancient Erin" Publishers Weekly (US)

The chieftains of Sevenwaters have long been custodians of a vast forest, said by some to be one of the last refuges of the Tuatha De Danann, the Fair Folk of ancient story. Whatever the truth, Human and Otherworld dwellers have existed side by side in peace, sharing a wary trust. Until the spring when Lady Aisling of Sevenwaters finds herself expecting another child, and everything changes.

With her mother pregnant, Clodagh fears for her health, as Aisling is well past the safe age for childbearing. Her father, Lord Sean of Sevenwaters, son of the famous Sorcha who performed her miraculous sacrifice all those years ago, faces his own difficulties, as warring factions threaten his borders. When Aisling gives birth, the responsibility of caring for the infant falls to Clodagh while her mother recovers.

The family's joy turns to despair when an unspeakable horror falls upon Sevenwaters. Clodagh must finally confront the shadowy mystery of the silent forest and descend to the Otherworld, to find out why the trust between the two realms has been broken so tragically.

Accompanied on her quest by a warrior of uncertain allegiance, Clodagh will have her courage tested to breaking point. The reward may be far greater than she ever dreamed...

"There are some series so lyrical, so well-conceived, that every new book is a delight, and this describes Marillier's Sevenwaters." The Weekend West

Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Buy Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780330425131
ISBN-10: 0330425137
Format: Paperback / softback
(200mm x 131mm x 27mm)
Pages: 408
Imprint: Pan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2009
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Heir to Sevenwaters book by Juliet Marillier and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier - Reviewed by (18 Jul 2011)

Many things are about to change at Sevenwaters. For years now Lord Sean, chieftain of Sevenwaters has held the peace between the tribes to the north and south of his lands. There has been a strong bond of friendship between the family of Sevenwaters and the Fair Folk that dwell within the protected forests of Sevenwaters. But all this peace is about to be undone, and Clodagh, daughter of Lord Sean, is to see her life turned upside down.

When a series of events brings tragedy after tragedy down upon Clodagh's family no one is above suspicion, setting sister against sister, father against daughter, uncle against nephew, and ultimately father against son. As the dust begins to settle all fingers point to a warrior, once welcomed into the home of Sevenwaters now finding himself on the run. But there are other forces at work set to tear Clodagh's family apart.

Is Clodagh losing her wits as her father would have her believe, and the unrest in her home is all the work of the strange and questionable warrior? Or is she the only one at Sevenwaters able to see the truth in what has happened, and that the answer to all their troubles lies with the Fair Folk? Despite their goodwill in the past, Clodagh cannot be dissuaded from her belief of the Fair Folk's involvement, but can not think of what has changed to set them against her family?

All of a sudden Clodagh finds herself a stranger in her own home, someone with whom her family can no longer trust, and like it or not her only ally is the warrior who she neither trusts nor likes. Against her family, but also out of a sense of duty and love to them, Clodagh travels to the Otherworld to seek the truth that her family refuse to see. But what starts out as a quest of duty to her family develops into a fight for life and survival. Her only weapons, her great capacity for compassion, a talisman, some unlikely friends, and a selfless act of love.

A story that draws you in from the first and holds you captive till its very end. Its history, detail and characters are all vividly and beautifully brought to life in this tale of adventure, danger and love. I have spent the past few days wrapped up in this book and I have loved every minute of it. A must read for any lover of fantasy and fiction.


Author Biography - Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier was born in 1948 in Dunedin, New Zealand. She has worked as a music teacher, opera singer and tax assessor, but is now a full-time writer. Her historical fantasy novels for adult readers are published internationally and have won a number of awards. Juliet lives in a hundred-year-old cottage by the Swan River in Perth. She shares her house with a kelpie cross, a miniature pinscher and a tri-coloured cat. She loves history, folklore and travel.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.