0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club by Martin Edwards

Winner of the H.R.F. Keating Award for best biographical/critical book related to crime fiction, and nominated for the Edgar Allen Poe and Macavity Awards for Best Critical/Biographical book.

Ninety crime writers from the world's oldest and most famous crime writing network give tips and insights into successful crime and thriller fiction. Howdunit offers a fresh perspective on the craft of crime writing from leading exponents of the genre, past and present. The book offers invaluable advice to people interested in writing crime fiction, but it also provides a fascinating picture of the way that the best crime writers have honed their skills over the years. Its unique construction and content mean that it will appeal not only to would-be writers but also to a very wide readership of crime fans.

The principal contributors are current members of the legendary Detection Club, including Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Peter James, Peter Robinson, Ann Cleeves, Andrew Taylor, Elly Griffiths, Sophie Hannah, Stella Duffy, Alexander McCall Smith, John Le Carre and many more.

Interwoven with their contributions are shorter pieces by past Detection Club members ranging from G.K. Chesterton, Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie and John Dickson Carr to Desmond Bagley and H.R.F. Keating.

The book is dedicated to Len Deighton, who is celebrating 50 years as a Detection Club member and has also penned an essay for the book.

The contributions are linked by short sections written by Martin Edwards, the current President of the Club and author of the award-winning The Golden Age of Murder.

Perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths, George Bellairs and Frances Brody!

Buy Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club by Martin Edwards from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780008380137
Format: Hardback
(240mm x 159mm x 47mm)
Pages: 544
Imprint: Collins Crime Club
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 17-Sep-2020
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club by Martin Edwards

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club book by Martin Edwards and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought