Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell

THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER, AND BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE SUNDAY TIMES, THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, IRISH TIMES, OBSERVER, RED and THE TELEGRAPH.

'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart' The Times
'Absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant... spectacularly moving' Max Porter

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Timesbestselling author Maggie O'Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

Buy I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781472240750
ISBN-10: 1472240758
Format: Paperback / softback
(215mm x 143mm x 24mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Tinder Press
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publish Date: 22-Aug-2017
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell

Book Reviews - I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller book by Maggie O'Farrell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell - Reviewed by (07 Nov 2017)

4.5 stars

“The knowledge that I was lucky to be alive, that it could so easily have been otherwise, skewed my thinking. I viewed my continuing life as an extra, a bonus, a boon: I could do with it what I wanted. And not only had I tricked death but I had escaped a fate of incapacity. What else was I going to do with my independence, my ambulatory state, except exploit it for all it was worth? … This insouciance stopped the minute I had children, when suddenly I worried that my two-fingered taunts to Death might come back to bite me.”

I Am, I Am, I Am is a memoir by award-winning British author, Maggie O’Farrell. It is subtitled Seventeen Brushes With Death, and in describing these (mostly, but not exclusively, her own) experiences, O’Farrell also, of course, shares many other important moments of her life. As well as describing the situation that led to them, the physical effects they had on her and those close to her, she also notes the change in attitude they caused.

“The people who teach us something retain a particularly vivid place in our memories. I’d been a parent for about ten minutes when I met the man, but he taught me, with a small gesture, one of the most important things about the job: kindness, intuition, touch, and that sometimes you don’t even need words.”

The incidents described happened from age three to adulthood, and no doubt, in years to come, an expanded edition could detail further instances, as O’Farrell does seem to attract them. She described near misses with vehicles, a mugging, juvenile encephalitis, the birth of her first child, near drownings (three!), a knife-throwing act, dysentery-induced dehydration, and an encounter with a murderer.

As with her fiction, O’Farrell’s prose is often exquisite. This is a privileged peek into the life of an amazing author, a moving and fascinating read.


Author Biography - Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller by Maggie O'Farrell also bought the following titles:

Attachment by Ailsa Piper
Paperback / softback, March 2017
$25.19 $29.99
Necessary Angel by C K Stead
Paperback / softback, September 2017
$29.69 $32.99
Light and Shadow Updated Edition by Mark Colvin
Paperback / softback, October 2017
$19.99 $24.99
See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt
Paperback / softback, October 2017
$16.79 $19.99

Books By Maggie O'Farrell

After You'd Gone by Maggie O'Farrell
Paperback / softback, April 2001
$17.99 $19.99
My Lover's Lover by Maggie O'Farrell
Paperback / softback, January 2003
$17.99 $19.99
This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016 by Maggie O'Farrell
Paperback / softback, April 2017
$20.69 $22.99
Hand That First Held Mine: Costa Novel Award Winner 2010 by Maggie O'Farrell
Paperback / softback, February 2011
$16.79 $19.99