Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

In the Freud Archives tells the story of an unlikely encounter among three men: K. R. Eissler, the venerable doyen of psychoanalysis; Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, a flamboyant, restless forty-two-year-old Sanskrit scholar turned psychoanalyst turned virulent anti-Freudian; and Peter Swales, a mischievous thirty-five-year-old former assistant to the Rolling Stones and self-taught Freud scholar. At the center of their Oedipal drama are the Sigmund Freud Archives-founded, headed, and jealously guarded by Eissler-whose sealed treasure gleams and beckons to the community of Freud scholarship as if it were the Rhine gold. Janet Malcolm's fascinating book first appeared some twenty years ago, when it was immediately recognized as a rare and remarkable work of nonfiction. A story of infatuation and disappointment, betrayal and revenge, In the Freud Archives is essentially a comedy. But the powerful presence of Freud himself and the harsh bracing air of his ideas about unconscious life hover over the narrative and give it a tragic dimension.

Buy In the Freud Archives book by Janet Malcolm from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781590170274
ISBN-10: 159017027X
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 130mm x 11mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: The New York Review of Books, Inc
Publisher: The New York Review of Books, Inc
Publish Date: 30-Nov-2002
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In the Freud Archives book by Janet Malcolm and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Janet Malcolm

Janet Malcolm was born in Prague. She was educated at the High School of Music and Art, in New York, and at the University of Michigan. Along with In the Freud Archives, her books include Diana and Nikon: Essays on Photography, Psychoanalysis: The Impossible Profession, The Journalist and the Murderer, The Purloined Clinic: Selected Writings, The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes, The Crime of Sheila McGough, and Reading Chekhov: A Critical Journey.

Books By Author Janet Malcolm

Forty-One False Starts by Janet Malcolm

Forty-One False Starts

Paperback, August 2014
Iphigenia in Forest Hills by Janet Malcolm

Iphigenia in Forest Hills

Paperback, November 2012
Journalist and the Murderer by Janet Malcolm

The Journalist and the Murderer

Paperback, June 2012
Reading Chekhov by Janet Malcolm

Reading Chekhov

Paperback, June 2012