We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - In the Wars: From Afghanistan to the UK, a story of conflict, survival and saving lives by Dr Waheed Arian

For readers of War Doctor and Educated, a doctor's story of grit and resilience, from the war-torn streets of Kabul to saving lives around the world.

Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian's earliest memories are of bombs. Fleeing the conflict with his family, he spent much of his childhood in refugee camps in Pakistan, living sometimes ten to a room without basic sanitation or access to education. After he contracted tuberculosis, his first-hand experience of the power of medicine inspired Waheed to dedicate his life to healing others. But how does a boy with nothing hope to become a doctor? Waheed largely taught himself, from textbooks bought from street-sellers, and learned English from the BBC World Service. Smuggled to the UK at fifteen with just $100 in his pocket, he was advised to set his sights on becoming a taxi driver. But he had bigger ambitions. He studied all hours and was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS. In 2015 he founded Arian Teleheal, a pioneering global charity that connects doctors in war zones and low-resource countries with their counterparts in the US, UK, Europe and Australia. Together, learning from each other, they save and change lives - the lives of millions of people just like Waheed.

Buy In the Wars: From Afghanistan to the UK, a story of conflict, survival and saving lives by Dr Waheed Arian from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781787633964
Format: Hardback
(243mm x 161mm x 28mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Bantam Press
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 17-Jun-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - In the Wars: From Afghanistan to the UK, a story of conflict, survival and saving lives by Dr Waheed Arian

Book Reviews - In the Wars: From Afghanistan to the UK, a story of conflict, survival and saving lives by Dr Waheed Arian

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In the Wars: From Afghanistan to the UK, a story of conflict, survival and saving lives book by Dr Waheed Arian and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.