Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Inside the HawkeKeating Government by Gareth Evans

As good as it gets in Australian politics. That's how the Hawke-Keating Government is now widely regarded. But how did this highly able, ambitious, strong-willed group work through its crises and rivalries, and achieve what it did?
Gareth Evans's diary, written in the mid-1980s and published now for the first time, is the consummate insider's account. It not only adds much new material to the historical record, but is perceptive, sharp and unvarnished in its judgments, lucidly written, and often highly entertaining.

Buy Inside the HawkeKeating Government by Gareth Evans from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780522866421
ISBN-10: 0522866425
Format: Hardback
(245mm x 162mm x 31mm)
Pages: 408
Imprint: Melbourne University Press
Publisher: Melbourne University Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2014
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Inside the HawkeKeating Government by Gareth Evans

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Inside the HawkeKeating Government book by Gareth Evans and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Gareth Evans

Gareth Evans was a Cabinet member throughout the Hawke Keating years, as Attorney-General (1983 84), Minister for Resources and Energy (1984 87), Minister for Transport and Communications (1987 88) and Foreign Minister (1988 96). As Senator for Victoria from 1978 to 1996, he was Deputy Leader (1987 93) then Leader of the Government in the Senate (1993 96); as Member for Holt (1996 99) he served as Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 1996 to 1998. He left Australian politics to become President and CEO of the Brussels-based International Crisis Group from 2000 to 2009, and has been Chancellor of the Australian National University since 2010.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.