Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series by Jacob Lawrence

In 1941, Jacob Lawrence, then just 23 years old, made a series of 60 small tempera paintings on the Great Migration, the decades-long mass movement of black Americans from the rural South to the urban North that began in 1915-16. The child of migrant parents, Lawrence worked partly from his own experience and partly from long research in his neighborhood library. The result was an epic narrative of the collective history of his people. Moving from scenes of terror and violence to images of great intimacy, and drawing on film, photography, political cartoons and other sources in popular culture, Lawrence created an innovative format of sequential panels, each image accompanied by a descriptive caption. Within months of its completion, the series entered the collections of The Museum of Modern Art, New York, and the Phillips Memorial Gallery (today The Phillips Collection), Washington, DC, each institution acquiring 30 panels.

Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series, now in paperback, grounds Lawrence's work in the cultural and political debates that shaped his art and demonstrates its relevance for artists and writers today.
The series is reproduced in full; short texts accompanying each panel relate them to the history of the Migration and explore Lawrence's technique and approach. Alongside scholarly essays, the book also includes 11 newly commissioned poems, by Rita Dove, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes, Tyehimba Jess, Yusef Komunyakaa, Patricia Spears Jones, Natasha Trethewey, Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon, Crystal Williams and Kevin Young, that respond directly to the series. The distinguished poet Elizabeth Alexander edited and introduces the section.

Buy Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series by Jacob Lawrence from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781633450400
ISBN-10: 1633450406
Format: Paperback / softback
(303mm x 245mm x 17mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Museum of Modern Art
Publisher: Museum of Modern Art
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2017
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series by Jacob Lawrence

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series book by Jacob Lawrence and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Jacob Lawrence

Great Migration by Jacob Lawrence
Hardback, September 1995
$38.93 $43.25
Harriet and the Promised Land by Jacob Lawrence
Paperback, January 1997
$17.81 $19.79
Aesop's Fables by Jacob Lawrence
Hardback, June 1997