Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - John Ashbery: Collected Poems 1991-2000 by John Ashbery

To celebrate John Ashbery?s ninetieth birthday, the Library of America presents the second volume of his collected poems, spanning a crucial and prolific decade in the poet?s life and work. Having received wide acclaim and numerous awards over the first half of his career, in the 1990s Ashbery continued to strike out in new directions, writing in a style that is at once playful and cerebral, relaxed and precise, dreamlike in its imagery and associations yet exquisitely attuned to the everyday rythyms of American speech. This volume opens with one of Ashbery?s indispensable works, the book-length poem Flow Chart (1991), here for the first time in a complete text that restores 38 lines inadvertently omitted from all previous editions. Weaving a spell through its long lines, which unfold in mesmerizing and unexpected ways, Flow Chart offers an account of the poet?s mind that complements Ashbery?s earlier Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror. It also provides a vision of the collective "dream of everyday life that was our / beginning, and where we still live, out in the open, under clouds stacked up in a holding pattern / like pictures in a nineteenth-century museum.

Buy John Ashbery: Collected Poems 1991-2000 by John Ashbery from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781598535358
ISBN-10: 1598535358
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 130mm x mm)
Pages: 800
Imprint: The Library of America
Publisher: The Library of America
Publish Date: 5-Oct-2017
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - John Ashbery: Collected Poems 1991-2000 by John Ashbery

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about John Ashbery: Collected Poems 1991-2000 book by John Ashbery and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - John Ashbery

The first living poet to have his work collected in the Library of America series, John Ashbery (1927-2017) was the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the Yale Younger Poets Prize, the Bollingen Prize, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Griffin International Award, and a MacArthur "Genius" Grant. Mark Ford, editor, is the author of three acclaimed collections of poetry, Landlocked, Soft Sift, and Six Children; his Selected Poems was published in 2014. His book-length interview, John Ashbery in Conversation with Mark Ford, was published in 2003. His most recent book is Thomas Hardy: Half a Londoner (2016).

Books By John Ashbery

And the Stars Were Shining by John Ashbery
Paperback / softback, April 1994
$29.61 $32.90
John Ashbery by John Ashbery
Hardback, March 2018
$54.00 $60.00
Collected French Translations: Prose by John Ashbery
Paperback / softback, April 2014
$44.99 $49.99
Breezeway by John Ashbery
Paperback / softback, June 2015
$20.66 $22.95