Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Julius LeVallon: An Episode by Algernon Blackwood

A chance meeting between John Mason and Julius Le Vallon sparks a long-forgotten memory of a former life. Le Vallon reminds Mason of the Temple Days - a time hundreds of thousands of years ago when the two of them and a girl conducted a forbidden experiment which went disastrously wrong. The experiment unleashed the elemental powers of Wind and Fire, which Le Vallon has tried ever since to channel back to their domain. These attempts have always failed because the girl was not present. Now, as the story reaches its elemental climax millennia later, the three spirits are united and Le Vallon must face the ultimate challenge.

Buy Julius LeVallon: An Episode by Algernon Blackwood from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780755114641
ISBN-10: 0755114647
Format: Paperback
(205mm x 135mm x 22mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: House of Stratus
Publisher: House of Stratus
Publish Date: 12-Jan-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Julius LeVallon: An Episode by Algernon Blackwood

Book Reviews - Julius LeVallon: An Episode by Algernon Blackwood

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Julius LeVallon: An Episode book by Algernon Blackwood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Algernon Blackwood

Algernon Blackwood (1869-1951) was born into a well-to-do Kentish family. His parents, converts to a Calvinistic sect, led an austere life, ill-suited to their dreamy and sensitive son. During adolescence, he became fascinated by hypnotism and the supernatural and, on leaving university, studied Hindu philosophy and occultism. Later, he was to draw on these beliefs and experiences in his writing. Sent away to Canada at the age of twenty, his attempts at making a living were wholly unsuccessful and shortly after his return to England, he began to write. The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories, published in 1906, was followed by a series of psychic detective stories, featuring John Silence, 'physician extraordinary'. His reputation as one of the greatest exponents of supernatural fiction began to grow. Chiefly known for his ghost stories, Blackwood wrote in many different forms within the genre. His most personal works, however, are his 'mystical' novels, for example The Centaur, where he explores man's empathy with the forces of the universe. Blackwood also wrote children's fiction. A Prisoner in Fairyland was adapted into the play (later the musical), Starlight Express. Later in life, Blackwood turned to writing radio plays, and in 1947 he began a new career on BBC TV telling ghost stories. He received a knighthood in 1949.

Books By Algernon Blackwood

Best Ghost Stories of Algernon Blackwood by Algernon Blackwood
Paperback, June 1973
$26.99 $29.99
Listener and Other Stories by Algernon Blackwood
Hardback, December 2016
$61.83 $68.70
John Silence-Physician Extraordinary / The Wave by Algernon Blackwood
Paperback, October 2017
$38.79 $43.10
Centaur (Dodo Press) by Algernon Blackwood
Paperback, September 2007
$38.86 $43.18