0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Latitudes of Longing: A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love by Shubhangi Swarup

** The phenomenal Indian bestseller **

**Winner of the Tata Lit Live Best First Book of the Year Award **

'Intense, lyrical, and powerful. This is a remarkable debut' Jeet Thayil, author of Narcopolis and The Book of Chocolate Saints

'Latitudes of Longing is a book to be savoured' The Hindu

'Bold and imaginative' India Today

A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, for readers of Yaa Gyasi's HOMEGOING and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's HALF OF A YELLOW SUN

In the feverish tropics of the Andaman Islands, a young botanist tends to a fragile rose he has imported to welcome his bride. Hoping their marriage will bloom in this strange life, hundreds of miles from the east coast of India, he is entranced by Chanda Devi's fierce nature and unusual gifts; speaking to trees and the ghosts of former colonialists. These islands, she tells her adoring husband, rest on a faultline, cracked so deep into the earth that spirits cross the boundary freely. But it is not this fracture that takes a tragic bite out of their happiness.

With the family riven by heartbreak, their maid takes the chance to resolve her own past mistakes. Having abandoned her son many years before, she now traces him to Myanmar, only to find him in prison - the enemy of a brutal regime. The faultline she followed over the Indian Ocean now cuts north into Nepal, where the prisoner's ally, an itinerant drug dealer, tries to rescue a young woman from the dancing bars of Kathmandu. It shadows his footsteps into the Karakoram mountains, where a scientist looks deep into the abyss between India and Pakistan. It rises all the way to the snow deserts, beyond the reach of nation or war, where an elder of the village waits for the return of his true love, bringing all their journeys full circle.

A breathtaking epic, Latitudes of Longing possesses the reader with a blazing sense of wonder. Shubhangi Swarup's vision goes deeper than the human stories of the subcontinent to reveal the conscious history of the earth itself. Tender in every detail, touched with humour and profound humanity, this is a novel brimming with life, an original masterpiece.

Buy Latitudes of Longing: A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love by Shubhangi Swarup from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781529405149
Format: Paperback / softback
(196mm x 128mm x 24mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: riverrun
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publish Date: 13-May-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Latitudes of Longing: A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love by Shubhangi Swarup

Book Reviews - Latitudes of Longing: A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love by Shubhangi Swarup

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Latitudes of Longing: A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love book by Shubhangi Swarup and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.