Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Living Fire by Edward Hirsch

"The Living Fire" brings together a rich selection of the poetry of Edward Hirsch, from seven books of poetry spanning thirty-five years of writing. A poet who is also a passionate advocate of poetry, and a voracious reader, Hirsch infuses his poetry with a powerful blend of formal skill and emotional intensity, exploring his inner life, which is also a reading life, from childhood to middle age. In poems of grace and passion, "The Living Fire" struggles with the unlikely presence of the divine, with the power of art to redeem human transience, the complexity of relationships. In the poem which gives this book its title, Hirsch writes with tender observation of his cat, recalling the eighteenth-century poet Christopher Smart's cat Jeffrey, in an affirmation of the continuing meaning of poetry. 'It is Jeoffrey-and every creature like him - who can teach us how to praise - Wreathing themselves in the living fire.'

Buy Living Fire by Edward Hirsch from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857549829
ISBN-10: 1857549821
Format: Paperback
Pages: 249
Imprint: Carcanet Press Ltd
Publisher: Carcanet Press Ltd
Publish Date: 28-Mar-2010
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Living Fire by Edward Hirsch

Book Reviews - Living Fire by Edward Hirsch

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Living Fire book by Edward Hirsch and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Edward Hirsch

Edward Hirsch has published seven books of poems: For the Sleepwalkers (1981), Wild Gratitude (1986), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, The Night Parade (1989), Earthly Measures (1994), On Love (1998), Lay Back the Darkness (2003), and, most recently, Special Orders (2008). He has also written four prose books, including How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry (1999), a US bestseller, and Poet's Choice (2006). He has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award for Literature. He taught in the Creative Writing Program at the University of Houston for seventeen years and now serves as president of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Books By Edward Hirsch

Gabriel by Edward Hirsch
Hardback, September 2014
$47.60 $52.89
Demon and the Angel by Edward Hirsch
Paperback, April 2003
$35.24 $39.15
Living Fire by Edward Hirsch
Paperback, September 2011
$37.09 $41.21
To a Nightingale by Edward Hirsch
Paperback, March 2014
$19.43 $21.59