Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn

The rightful emperor is lost. Shikanoko is condemned to live half man and half deer, an outlaw in the Darkwood. Yet the mightly lords who now rule the Eight Islands are prey to suspicion and illness, and drought and famine overrun the realm.

Only Shikanoko can bring healing by restoring the preordained ruler to the Lotus Throne and only one person can bring him back from the Darkwood.

Against a background of wild forest, elegant castles and savage battlefields, Lian Hearn's Tale of Shikanoko series draws to its thrilling conclusion.

LORD OF THE DARKWOOD is Books 3 and 4 in THE TALE OF SHIKANOKO and follows EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS (Books 1 and 2 in the series).


'huge imaginative vitality' SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

'a fitting follow-up to the Otori series' THE AGE

Buy Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780733635151
ISBN-10: 0733635156
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 154mm x 30mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Hachette Australia
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Publish Date: 9-Aug-2016
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lord of the Darkwood book by Lian Hearn and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Lian Hearn

Lian Hearn's beloved Tales of the Otori series, set in an imagined feudal Japan, has sold more than four million copies worldwide and has been translated into nearly forty languages. It is comprised of five volumes: ACROSS THE NIGHTINGALE FLOOR, GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW, BRILLIANCE OF THE MOON, THE HARSH CRY OF THE HERON and HEAVEN'S NET IS WIDE. The series was followed by two standalone novels, BLOSSOMS AND SHADOWS and THE STORYTELLER AND HIS THREE DAUGHTERS, also set in Japan. EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS is Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko and is followed by LORD OF THE DARKWOOD (Books 3 and 4). Lian has made many trips to Japan and has studied Japanese. She read Modern Languages at Oxford and worked as an editor and film critic in England before emigrating to Australia. For the latest news from Lian, visit lianhearn.com, follow Lian on Twitter @LianHearn, or join the readers who have become Lian's friend on Facebook.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn also bought the following titles:

78-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths
Paperback / softback, August 2016
$12.74 $14.99
United As One by Pittacus Lore
Paperback / softback, June 2016
$19.54 $22.99
Gothic Short Stories by David Blair
Paperback / softback, November 2000
$11.01 $12.95
Juggling With Mandarins by V. M. Jones
Paperback / softback, June 2003
$12.71 $14.95

Books By Lian Hearn

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, March 2016
$25.49 $29.99
Sibling Assassins: Children of the Otori Book 2 by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, January 2020
$28.04 $32.99
Brilliance of the Moon: Book 3 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, January 2016
$16.99 $19.99
Blossoms and Shadows by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, December 2011
$19.54 $22.99