Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts

A profound, unputdownable, epic thriller set in Bombay - a standalone novel and a sequel to the international bestseller Shantaram

"Roberts is brilliant at creating a sense of menace and projecting the constant tension of the escaped convict ... crucially, he is also a man who loves and understands India ... nearly 900 pages of pure escape" Sunday Times

The first glimpse of the sea on Marine Drive filled my heart, if not my head. I turned away from the red shadow. I stopped thinking of that pyramid of killers, and Sanjay's improvidence. I stopped thinking about my own part in the madness. And I rode, with my friends, into the end of everything.

Shantaram introduced millions of readers to a cast of unforgettable characters through Lin, an Australian fugitive, working as a passport forger for a branch of the Bombay mafia. In The Mountain Shadow, the long-awaited sequel, Lin must find his way in a Bombay run by a different generation of mafia dons, playing by a different set of rules.

It has been two years since the events in Shantaram, and since Lin lost two people he had come to love: his father figure, Khaderbhai, and his soul mate, Karla, married to a handsome Indian media tycoon. Lin returns from a smuggling trip to a city that seems to have changed too much, too soon. Many of his old friends are long gone, the new mafia leadership has become entangled in increasingly violent and dangerous intrigues, and a fabled holy man challenges everything that Lin thought he'd learned about love and life. But Lin can't leave the Island City: Karla, and a fatal promise, won't let him go.

Fans of Vikram Seth, John Irving and David Mitchell will love Shantaram and The Mountain Shadow.

Buy The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781743547397
ISBN-10: 1743547390
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 154mm x 56mm)
Pages: 880
Imprint: Picador Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 31-May-2016
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts

Book Reviews - The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mountain Shadow book by Gregory David Roberts and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Gregory David Roberts

Gregory David Roberts retired from public life in 2014 to devote time to his family and new writing projects.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Gregory David Roberts

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
Paperback / softback, November 2011
$21.25 $25.00
Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts
Hardback, October 2015
$64.38 $71.53
The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts
Hardback, October 2015