We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Muffled by Jennifer Gennari

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this "thoughtful" (Beth Turley, author of If This Were a Story and The Last Tree Town), heartwarming middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner and El Deafo by Cece Bell.

Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she's going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose.

To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead. Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school...until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy-everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends.

Still, it's not long though before Amelia's quiet nature clashes with Madge's loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she's going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she's muffled for so long.

Buy Muffled by Jennifer Gennari from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781534463660
Format: Paperback / softback
(194mm x 130mm x 18mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Simon & Schuster
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 9-Dec-2021
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Muffled by Jennifer Gennari

Book Reviews - Muffled by Jennifer Gennari

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Muffled book by Jennifer Gennari and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.