We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - My Mother's House: A novel by Francesca Momplaisir

For fans of Kate Atkinson, Oyinkan Braithwaite, Edwidge Danticat, Tana French, Mohsin Hamid, Hari Kunzru, Imbolo Mbue, Alex Michaelides, and Jesmyn Ward

A literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

One of the Best Books of the Year- Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Vulture

"Impossible to stop reading." -Vulture

When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City's South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a run-down house in a quickly changing community, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay-"my mother's house"-and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and necessary legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn't, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness.

What he can't begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien's ultimate evil. An uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and a chilling depiction of the depravity of one man, My Mother's House is an electrifying page-turner rooted in a magical reality.

Buy My Mother's House: A novel by Francesca Momplaisir from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780525657156
Format: Hardback
(235mm x 139mm x mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Alfred A. Knopf
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Publish Date: 12-May-2020
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - My Mother's House: A novel by Francesca Momplaisir

Book Reviews - My Mother's House: A novel by Francesca Momplaisir

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about My Mother's House: A novel book by Francesca Momplaisir and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.