We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - No Cure for the Dead by Christine Trent

When a young nurse dies on her watch, Florence Nightingale must uncover the deep-hidden secrets someone will kill to keep buried.

It is 1853. Lady of the Lamp Florence Nightingale has just accepted the position of Superintendent of the Establishment for Gentlewomen During Temporary Illness in London. She has hardly had time to learn the names of the nurses in her charge when she suddenly finds one of them hanging in the Establishment's library. Her name was Nurse Bellamy.

Florence's mettle is tested by the dual goals of preserving what little reputation her hospital has and bringing Nurse Bellamy's killer to justice. Her efforts are met with upturned noses and wayward glances except for her close friend and advocate inside the House of Commons, Sidney Herbert. As Florence digs deeper, however, her attention turns to one of the hospital investors and suddenly, Sidney becomes reluctant to help.

With no one but herself to count on, Florence must now puzzle out what the death of an unknown, nondescript young nurse has to do with conspiracies lurking about at the highest levels of government before she's silenced too.

For fans of Anne Perry and Laurie R. King comes No Cure for the Dead, the rich and enthralling series debut from Christine Trent.

Buy No Cure for the Dead by Christine Trent from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781683315445
ISBN-10: 1683315448
Format: Hardback
(215mm x 146mm x mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Crooked Lane Books
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date: 8-May-2018
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - No Cure for the Dead by Christine Trent

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about No Cure for the Dead book by Christine Trent and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Christine Trent

In addition to the new Florence Nightingale mysteries, Christine Trent is the author of the Lady of Ashes historical mysteries, about a Victorian-era undertaker, as well as the author of three other historical novels. Christine's novels have been translated into Turkish, Polish, and Czech. She writes from her two-story home library, where she lives with her husband, five precocious cats, a large doll collection, entirely too many fountain pens, and over 4,000 catalogued books.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.