Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Northern Girls: Life Goes On: China Library by Keyi Sheng

Qian Xiaohong is born into a sleepy village far from China's headlong rush towards development. A scandalous love affair launches the buxom but unwordly sixteen-year-old on a journey to the southern boomtown of Shenzhen. There, released from the stifling conservatism of her rural upbringing, Xiaohong must navigate a strange new world with unfamiliar rules and values, and learn to go on in the face of great adversity. Along the way, Xiaohong finds support and solace from her fellow 'northern girls', with whom life's challenges and pleasures can be shared. Northern Girls explores the inner lives of a generation of young, rural Chinese women who embark on life-changing journeys in the search of something better.

Buy Northern Girls: Life Goes On: China Library by Keyi Sheng from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780670076161
ISBN-10: 0670076163
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 131mm x 15mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Penguin China
Publisher: Penguin China
Publish Date: 23-Dec-2015
Country of Publication: China

Book Reviews - Northern Girls: Life Goes On: China Library by Keyi Sheng

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Northern Girls: Life Goes On: China Library book by Keyi Sheng and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Keyi Sheng

Sheng Keyi is the author of several novels and short stories. Northern Girls, the first of her full form works to be published in English, was long-listed for the Man Asian Literary Prize. Death Fugue is her latest novel to be translated into English. She currently resides in Beijing, China.

Books By Keyi Sheng

Death Fugue by Keyi Sheng
Paperback, January 2014
Northern Girls: Life Goes on by Keyi Sheng
Paperback, May 2012