0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - On Being a Bear: Face to Face with Our Wild Sibling by Remy Marion

For fans of Jane Goodall and Lawrence Anthony, this up-close, captivating look at bears traces our complex relationship to these species throughout history

On Being a Bear draws on history, legends, scientific studies, and the author's thirty years of observing bears around the world to offer a richly detailed biography of these iconic animals, including the many ways bears have figured in our lives and imaginations.

As author Remy Marion tells us, some cultures view bears as our wild cousins - as humans cloaked in fur - while others cast bears as cuddly characters in cartoons or seek to eradicate their grizzled forms from civilisation. Scientists have made new discoveries into bears' varied diets, their powerful sense of smell, and a mother bear's stubborn patience with her cubs. Bears play a vital role in our ecosystems, and new studies into bear hibernation could lead to medical breakthroughs for humans. Offering these and more astonishing insights, On Being a Bear brings readers face-to-face with these long admired, feared, and misunderstood animals, and sets the record straight through a combination of thrilling science and expert storytelling.

'The result of an obsession that spans at least three decades, On Being a Bear comes very close to tell us what bears 'really' are. A precise and passionate account.' - Bernd Brunner, author of Bears, Birdmania, and Winterlust

Buy On Being a Bear: Face to Face with Our Wild Sibling by Remy Marion from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781771646987
Format: Hardback
(190mm x 133mm x mm)
Pages: 248
Imprint: Greystone Books,Canada
Publisher: Greystone Books,Canada
Publish Date: 23-Apr-2021
Country of Publication: Canada

Book Reviews - On Being a Bear: Face to Face with Our Wild Sibling by Remy Marion

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about On Being a Bear: Face to Face with Our Wild Sibling book by Remy Marion and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.