Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Orfeo by Richard Powers

Seventy-year old avant-garde composer Peter Els opens the door one evening to find the police outside. His DIY microbiology lab - the latest experiment in his lifelong attempt to extract music from rich patterns beyond the ear's ability to hear - has come to the attention of Homeland Security. Panicked by the raid on his house, Els flees and turns fugitive, waiting for the evidence to clear him and for the alarm surrounding his activities to blow over.

But alarm turns to national hysteria, as the government promises a panicked nation that the 'Bioterrorist Bach' will be found and brought to trial. As Els feels the noose around him tighten, he embarks on a cross-country trip to visit, one last time, the people in his past who have most shaped his failed musical journey. And through the help of these people - his ex-wife, his daughter, and his longtime artistic collaborator - Els comes up with a plan to turn this disastrous collision with national security into one last, resonant, calamitous artwork that might reach an audience beyond his wildest dreams.

Buy Orfeo by Richard Powers from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781782391647
ISBN-10: 1782391649
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 129mm x 23mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Atlantic Books
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Publish Date: 31-Jul-2014
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Orfeo by Richard Powers

Book Reviews - Orfeo by Richard Powers

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Orfeo book by Richard Powers and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Richard Powers

Richard Powers has been a recipient of a Lannan Literary Award and a MacArthur Fellowship, as well as a winner of the US National Book Award and a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. He is the author of eight novels, including The Time of our Singing, Plowing the Dark, and Gain. He lives in Los Angeles.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Richard Powers

The Overstory: Winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction by Richard Powers
Paperback / softback, April 2019
$16.99 $19.99
Overstory by Richard Powers
Hardback, March 2018
$55.37 $61.52
Galatea 2.2 by Richard Powers
Paperback, January 2004
$39.62 $44.02
Generosity by Richard Powers
Paperback, August 2010
$39.62 $44.02