We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby

After a cold, hard winter on the streets, three orphan children are about to give up hope when an unexpected turn of events brings them to the doorstep of a grand house in Ardwick, Manchester.

Taken in by the firm but kind-hearted cook, the young friends can hardly believe their luck. But behind Bracken House's impressive fa ade lies a household steeped in troubles and mystery, with residents above and below stairs battling their own demons and dark secrets.

Not everyone is happy about the new arrivals, and soon the orphans' safety is in danger. If they want to stay in the first home any of them have known for years, they must unravel the past and bring hope to the future. Will they succeed? Or will they come to regret ever leaving the mean slum streets they once called home?

Emma Hornby's page-turning, absorbing sagas will tug at your heartstrings. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.

Buy The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780552173254
ISBN-10: 0552173258
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 127mm x 26mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Corgi Books
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 3-May-2018
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby

Book Reviews - The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Orphans of Ardwick book by Emma Hornby and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Emma Hornby

Thirty-two-year-old mother of three Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.