Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Orpheus Descending and Suddenly Last Summer by Tennessee Williams

Orpheus Descending is a love story, a plea for spiritual and artistic freedom, as well as a portrait of racism and intolerance. When charismatic drifter Valentine Xavier arrives in a Mississippi Delta town with his guitar and snakeskin jacket, he becomes a trigger for hatred and a magnet for three outcast souls: storekeeper Lady Torrance, "lewd vagrant" Carol Cutrere, and religious visionary Vee Talbot. Suddenly Last Summer, described by its author as a "short morality play," has become one of his most notorious works due in no small part to the film version starring Elizabeth Taylor, Katharine Hepburn, and Montgomery Clift that shocked audiences in 1959. A menacing tale of madness, jealousy, and denial,the horrors in Suddenly Last Summer build to a heart-stopping conclusion. With perceptive new introductions by playwright Martin Sherman - he reframes Orpheus Descending in a political context and explores the psychology and sensationalism surrounding Suddenly Last Summer - this volume also offers Williams's related essay, "The Past, the Present, and the Perhaps," and a chronology of the playwright's life and works.

Buy Orpheus Descending and Suddenly Last Summer by Tennessee Williams from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780811219396
ISBN-10: 0811219399
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 132mm x 18mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: New Directions Publishing Corporation
Publisher: New Directions Publishing Corporation
Publish Date: 4-Dec-2012
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Orpheus Descending and Suddenly Last Summer by Tennessee Williams

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Orpheus Descending and Suddenly Last Summer book by Tennessee Williams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams (1911-1983) is the acclaimed author of many books of letters, short stories, poems, essays, and a large collection of plays, including The Glass Menagerie, A Streetcar Named Desire, Camino Real, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Orpheus Descending, The Night of the Iguana, and The Rose Tattoo. Dramatist Martin Sherman's plays have been produced in over 50 countries, and he has been nominated for two Tonys, two Oliviers, and two BAFTAS.

Books By Tennessee Williams

Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
Paperback, February 2009
$16.79 $19.99
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams
Paperback, March 2009
$16.79 $19.99
Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams
Paperback, February 2009
$17.59 $19.99
A 'Streetcar Named Desire' by Tennessee Williams
Paperback, February 2009
$20.23 $22.99